Virginia technically does not require car insurance, as it gives drivers the option to pay a $500 fee to legally operate a motor vehicle without proper coverage. However, car insurance will provide you with financial protection in the event of an accident. Car insurance can provide peace of mind in knowing that you and your family are protected in an unexpected tragedy. So while car insurance may seem like an unnecessary expense, it's a wise investment in your future.
Required by the State
Currently, until December 31, 2024, all drivers in Virginia who do not pay the $500 uninsured fee, must have the following insurance:
- Bodily Injury Liability - Bodily injury liability is a form of insurance that helps cover the costs of injuries or death that may occur due to an accident for which the policyholder is at fault. This type of coverage can help pay for medical expenses, lost wages, and pain and suffering.
- $30,000 per person, $60,000 per accident
- Property Damage Liability - Property damage liability is a type of insurance coverage that helps to protect the policyholder from financial losses if they damage someone else's property. This can include damage to homes, businesses, vehicles, or other property types.
- $20,000 per accident
NOTE: Policies in effect before January 1, 2022, may have policy minimums of $25,000/$50,000 for bodily injury liability and $20,000 for property damage. Policies that will go into effect on or after January 1, 2025, will have minimums of $50,000/$100,000 for bodily injury liability and $25,000 for property damage.
Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage
Every insurance policy must provide uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage to policyholders; however, they can opt-out in writing. This coverage is highly recommended. If you are involved in an accident with an uninsured or underinsured driver, this coverage will protect you from paying out of pocket for damages.
In addition, if the other driver is at fault, this coverage will also help pay for your medical expenses. While Virginia does not require this coverage, it is still in your best interest to purchase it.
Penalties for Driving Without Insurance
If you are caught driving without insurance, (and have not paid the $500 uninsured driver fee) you may be subject to several penalties, including a fine of up to $500 and a license suspension. To reinstate your license and vehicle registration, a $600 noncompliance fee must be paid along with a reinstatement fee. Drivers will also have to file a Financial Responsibility Insurance Certificate for three years.
Harrisonburg, Virginia Car Accident Injury Attorneys
If you or a loved one has been injured in a car accident, the personal injury attorneys at Obenshain Law Group can help. We have extensive experience handling car accident claims, from minor fender benders to serious multi-vehicle accidents. We will work tirelessly to get you the compensation you deserve for your injuries, including medical bills, lost wages, and pain and suffering.
If you have been injured in a car accident, call us today at (540) 318-7360 or schedule a free consultation by filling out our form online.