Why Hire Obenshain Law Group?
Our Harrisonburg personal injury attorneys’ strategies are proven to succeed – our trial and settlement success speaks for itself. We are not intimidated by any adversary. You can trust that our powerhouse firm will do everything possible to ensure you receive the compensation that you deserve.
Clients continue choosing Obenshain Law Group because we:
- Offer free consultations to each prospective client
- Are available for weekend and evening appointments
- Have been listed as one of "The Best Lawyers in America"
- Are available to our clients 24 hours a day, 7 days a week
- Have recovered nearly $50 million in compensation for our clients
- Have been included in the list of Super Lawyers®, an elite group of the top 5% in the state
- Are AV® Rated by Martindale-Hubbell®, for highest ethical and professional standards of legal care
Keeping the Cost Low
At Obenshain Law Group, we handle most of our cases under contingency fee arrangements. This means that our fee is based on what we recover for you. If we don’t recover for you, you owe us no legal fees. When we meet to discuss your case, we will explain our fees in detail. Our first meeting is free.
Contingency fee arrangements can be models of efficiency. Our firm has found that these arrangements can effectively align the interests of the client and the attorney, make them partners in the litigation, and provide access to the legal system for clients who either do not have the ability or the desire to incur an hourly attorneys' fees.
Under contingency fee agreements, both attorney and client have the incentive to keep expenses as low as possible, resolve the matter quickly, and recover as much as possible. Our firm also handles cases on a fixed fee or hourly basis. We have extensive experience in alternative dispute resolution, including arbitration and mediation.
If you have been injured or have a personal injury claim, contact Obenshain Law Group at (540) 318-7360 for a free consultation with our Harrisonburg personal injury attorney.
Virginia Personal Injury Frequently Asked Questions
Will I Have to Go to Court?
Obenshain Law Group understands that very few clients want to go to court. If a defendant or insurance company is willing to settle a case for what we believe it is worth, then it will not be necessary to go to court. Some insurance companies are initially unreasonable and they hope that a lawyer will not want to go to trial. If an insurance company will not pay an acceptable amount, then we have an experienced trial lawyer well equipped to take your case to court.
How Do I Decide Which Lawyer to Hire?
The firm is well known and Mark Obenshain has earned a statewide reputation. He is listed in the publication "Best Lawyers in America" and for more than ten years running, he has been selected by Virginia Business magazine as members of the "Legal Elite."
Mark Obenshain is known for his record of success and his sensitive representation of each client. Because of our reputation, we receive referrals from both plaintiff and defense attorneys.
Martindale-Hubbell lists Mark Obenshain as an AV rated attorney, the highest possible rating, due to his ethical approach and his history of success. While the firm is proud of their reputation within the legal community, more relevant is the respect earned from their clients - the true measure of our success.
How Do I Pay for a Lawyer?
We handle most cases on a contingency fee basis. This means that our fee is based on what we recover for you. If we don’t recover for you, you owe us no legal fees. If there is no recovery, our attorneys are not paid. When we meet to discuss your case we will explain our fees in detail. Our first meeting is free.
How Long Will it Take for My Case to Be Resolved?
Harrisonburg accident and injury lawsuits can vary in length from weeks to years in some instances. In order to handle your claim, the firm must first thoroughly investigate it to make sure you recover everything you are entitled to receive.
Can I Recover if I Am Partially Responsible for My Injuries?
In Virginia, the law does not permit someone to recover money in a personal injury lawsuit if that person's negligence contributed in whole or in part to the accident or the injury.
This is known as the doctrine of contributory negligence. It is not always easy to determine whether contributory negligence is going to be an obstacle to recovery. It is always best to have your claim evaluated by a qualified attorney in order to determine whether or not your act is going to prevent recovery.
Are There Time Limits for Making an Accident or Injury Claim?
In Virginia, you do have a limited amount of time to file a personal injury lawsuit or you may permanently lose your ability to recover damages. These time limits are referred to as "statutes of limitations," and failure to meet the time limits established in these statutes may cause you to forever lose your ability to bring your claim – irrespective of the merits of your claim.
The statute of limitations will vary from state to state. Most people asserting personal injury claims arising from an accident in Virginia must file their lawsuits within two years of the date of an accident, however, there can be much shorter notice requirements for making claims against certain defendants.
Many variables and factors must be considered in order to determine the proper time limits for your case. Because every case is different and because the law is complex, we cannot advise you over the internet about the time limit that will apply to your case. In order to make sure that you comply with the time limits imposed by law, it is important for you to meet with Attorney Obenshain to obtain advice about the statute of limitation for your particular case.
I Received a Check From the Other Driver or From His Insurance Carrier, Should I Cash It?
Beware!!! Cashing or accepting a check from the other driver or from someone on his or her behalf, like an insurance carrier, could be viewed by the courts to be a final settlement.
That could prevent you from seeking ANY further compensation in your case, even if complications later arise, requiring further medical treatment. As a result, you should not accept a check or sign a release before consulting with an attorney.
Don't wait to get help. Contact our firm at (540) 318-7360 to schedule a free consultation today.