Most states require licensed drivers to carry some form of auto insurance to protect drivers involved in car accidents. Virginia is no exception.
Read on to learn the types of coverage you need to have as a licensed Virginia driver.
Required Auto Insurance Coverage
According to the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV), Virginia state law requires all licensed drivers to carry the following auto insurance coverage:
- Bodily injury/death of one person $25,000
- Bodily injury/death of two or more persons $50,000
- Property damage $20,000
Keep in mind that if you need to use your insurance policy for some reason, it is highly likely that your insurance premiums will go up.
There Are Penalties For Not Carrying Coverage
If you decide not to carry auto insurance coverage, you are taking a major risk. Not only because if you’re involved in an accident, you’ll have no recourse for your medical bills or property damage, but you also run the risk of being penalized by the DMV.
If your liability insurance coverage ends or is canceled during the registration period, you’re required to do the following:
- Reinsure the vehicle
- Pay the fee for uninsured motor vehicles
- Deactivate your license plates for a limited time; or
- Surrender the license plates to the DMV forever.
If you allow your insurance coverage to lapse, you must do the following to have your driving and vehicle registration privileges reinstated:
- Pay a $600 noncompliance fee
- File a Financial Responsibility Insurance Certificate (SR-22) with the DMV for three years
- Pay a reinstatement fee (if applicable)
If you need help dealing with the insurance company after a car accident, our attorneys are here to help. Our team has secured compensation for many others before you, and we can do the same for you. Don’t wait—contact us with your case right away.
If you or a loved one is ever involved in a crash, our lawyers at Obenshain Law Group can help you receive the settlement you deserve. Give us a call at (540) 318-7360 or fill out an online contact form.